Victorian Government end of life and palliative care framework

The Victorian Government’s end of life and palliative care framework was released in July 2016. The vision, guiding principles, goals, and priority areas of the framework are summarised below.


All Victorians and their families receive the best possible end of life care that places them at the centre where preferences, values, dignity and comfort are respected and quality of life matters most.

Guiding principles

  1. Dying is part of life: dying is a normal part of life and being human, not just a biological or medical event.
  2. The person is central to care: a person’s care is tailored and holistic; their rights, values and preferences are respected and they determine their own care whenever possible.
  3. Carers are important: carers receive recognition, support and are valued throughout their caring experience and after a person’s death.
  4. All people have information they discuss openly: people, their carers and families have information they understand about genuine choices that they can discuss authentically with their doctor and service providers.
  5. Decision making is legalised and respected: people’s decisions that may involve substitute decision-makers, health providers, families and carers are recognised and respected in accordance with relevant legislation.
  6. Services are high-quality and coordinated: individuals, their carers and families receive coordinated, integrated care from skilful staff.
  7. Care and services are monitored: underpinning end of life care are best practice evidence, effective monitoring, evaluation of patient-centred outcomes and supporting innovation.


  • People experience optimal end of life care.
  • People’s pain and symptoms are managed using quality interventions.
  • People’s preferences and values are recognised and respected in their end of life care.
  • Better support for carers.
  • People are cared for in their place of choice.
  • Where possible, people can choose to die in their place of choice.

Priority areas

Priority 1: Person-centred services.

Priority 2: Engaging communities, embracing diversity.

Priority 3: People receive services that are coordinated and integrated.

Priority 4: Quality end of life and palliative care is everyone’s responsibility.

Priority 5: Specialist palliative care is strengthened.