Community palliative care services

        • Community palliative care services work in partnership with health, aged and community services to support people to stay living at home as long as possible and to die at home if that is their wish. This includes support for family carers and close friends.

          Staffing of community palliative care services includes home visiting nurses, other medical support and a variety of allied health professionals, therapists and volunteers.

          Community palliative care services work closely with GPs and other community services and medical specialists who may be involved in the care of a person with a life-limiting illness, including palliative care units of public hospitals and palliative care consultancy services.

          GPs, hospitals and other health, aged and community services can make referrals to community palliative care. People can also self-refer.

          In addition to people’s private homes, community palliative care support is available to people living in aged care facilities and other types of supported accommodation, including disability accommodation services.

          In supporting residents of aged care facilities, community palliative care services work in cooperation with ‘Residential In-Reach/outreach’ services of metropolitan public hospitals (part of the Health Independence Program). Information about Residential In-Reach services can be found in the aged care and palliative care section of Resources within this website.

          As outlined in our NW Metro regional map, people are ‘zoned’ to one of the region’s three community palliative services according to where they live, designated by local government areas (LGAs). See details below, including suburb listings for LGAs.

          Banksia Palliative Care Service

          Catchment Area: LGAs of Banyule, Nillumbik and Whittlesea. See also listings by suburb below.

          Referrals Phone: 9456 9744. Switchboard: 9455 0822

          Fax: 9455 3199

          Website: Banksia Palliative Care Service

          Melbourne City Mission Palliative Care

          Catchment Area: LGAs of Darebin, Hume, Moreland and Yarra. See also listings by suburb below.

          Phone: 9486 2666

          Fax: 9482 5094

          Website: Melbourne City Mission Palliative Care

          Mercy Palliative Care

          Catchment Area: LGAs of Brimbank, Hobsons Bay, Maribyrnong, Melbourne, Melton, Moonee Valley and Wyndham. See also listings by suburb below.

          Phone: 9364 9777

          Fax: 9364 9198

          Website: Mercy Palliative Care

          After-hours community palliative care

          Normal ‘business hours’ of community palliative care services are 8.30am to 5.00pm Monday to Friday, excluding public holidays. Outside of these hours, existing community palliative care clients and their families/carers have access to an after-hours contact number where a nurse can provide phone advice and, if necessary, initiate an after-hours home visit.

          Suburbs within LGAs for community palliative care service eligibility

          As indicated above and outlined in our NW Metro regional map, people are ‘zoned’ to one of the region’s three community palliative services according to where they live, designated by local government areas (LGAs). Below is a listing of suburbs withing each LGA, organised according to our region’s three community palliative care services.

          In most cases the whole of a suburb is located within one LGA. However, some suburbs are split between LGAs, e.g. parts of Bundoora are in Banyule and Whittlesea (and therefore zoned to Banksia Palliative Care Service). Other parts of Bundoora are in Darebin (and therefore zoned to Melbourne City Mission Palliative Care).

          Banksia Palliative Care Service

              • Banyule: Briar Hill, Bundoora (part), Eaglemont, Greensborough, Heidelberg Heights, Heidelberg West/Bellfield, Ivanhoe, Ivanhoe East, Lower Plenty, Macleod, Montmorency, Rosanna, St Helena/Eltham North, Viewbank, Watsonia, Watsonia North, Yallambie.
              • Nillumbik: Arthurs Creek, Bend of Islands, Christmas Hills, Cottles Bridge, Diamond Creek, Doreen (part), Eltham, Eltham North, Hurstbridge, Kangaroo Ground, North Warrandyte, Panton Hill, Plenty, Research, Smiths Gully, St Andrews, Strathewen, Watsons Creek, Wattle Glen, Yan Yean (part), Yarrambat.
              • Whittlesea: Beveridge (part), Bundoora (part), Donnybrook, Doreen (part), Eden Park, Epping, Humevale, Kinglake West, Lalor, Mernda, Mill Park, South Morang, Thomastown, Whittlesea, Wollert, Woodstock.

          Melbourne City Mission Palliative Care

              • Darebin: Alphington, Bundoora (part), Fairfield, Kingsbury, Macleod, Northcote, Preston, Reservoir, Thornbury.
              • Hume: Attwood, Broadmeadows, Bulla, Campbellfield, Coolaroo, Craigieburn, Dallas, Gladstone Park, Goonawarra, Greenvale, Jacana, Kalkallo, Konagaderra, Meadow Heights, Melbourne Airport, Mickleham, Oaklands Junction, Roxburgh Park, Sunbury, Somerton, Tullamarine, Upfield, Westmeadows, Yuroke.
              • Moreland: Brunswick East, Brunswick West, Coburg, Coburg North, Fawkner, Glenroy, Gowanbrae, Hadfield, Oak Park, Pascoe Vale, Pascoe Vale South, Fitzroy North (part), Tullamarine (part).
              • Yarra: Alphington (part), Abbotsford, Burnley, Clifton Hill, Collingwood, Cremorne, Fairfield (part), Fitzroy, Fitzroy North (part) North Carlton, Princes Hill, Richmond.

          Mercy Palliative Care

              • Brimbank: Albion, Cairnlea, Deer Park, Delahey, Hillside, Keilor, Kings Park, St Albans, Sunshine, Sydenham, Taylors Lakes.
              • Hobsons Bay: Altona Meadows, Altona North and Brooklyn, Altona – Seaholme, Laverton, Newport West, South Kingsville and Spotswood, Williamstown.
              • Maribyrnong: Braybrook, Footscray, Kingsville, Maidstone, Maribyrnong, Seddon, Tottenham, West Foostcray, Yarraville.
              • Melbourne: Carlton, Docklands, East Melbourne, Kensington/Flemington, Melbourne and the CBD, North Melbourne, Parkville, Port Melbourne, Southbank, South Yarra (part), West Melbourne.
              • Melton: Brookfield, Burnside/Burnside Heights, Caroline Springs, Diggers Rest, Eastern Corridor, Eynesbury, Hillside, Kurunjang, Melton South, Melton Township, Melton West, Rockbank, Taylors Hill.
              • Moonee Valley: Aberfeldie, Airport West, Ascot Vale, Avondale Heights, Essendon, Essendon Fields, Essendon North, Essendon West, Flemington (part), Keilor East (part), Moonee Ponds, Niddrie, Strathmore, Strathmore Heights, Travancore.
              • Wyndham: Cocoroc, Eynesbury, Hoppers Crossing, Laverton (part), Laverton North, Little River (part), Mambourin, Mt Cottrell, Point Cook, Quandong, Tarneit, Truganina, Werribee, Werribee South, Williams Landing, Wyndham Vale.